Purge history records
Description

The system has the option to purge history data up to a certain point to reduce the size of the data files in the directory. The more data kept, the larger the files become which could become problematic when making backup as the backups become quite large in size.

The system only allows data to be removed up to a certain date as certain history data is required for reports, such as Equity, Skills and EMP501 submissions to name a few.

Purging data is also seen a form of system cleanup.

Cause
Resolution

From the Main Screen of the company got to Utilities>Purge History.

CAUTION: It is extremely important to make a backup before purging any history. 

 

If you get a message 'Date less than a year from Current date' when entering a date, it means you need to select a date that goes back a year or more from the current date. Example, if you are in June 2019, you can only purge data from June 2018 and earlier.

Click on Continue and an onscreen message will confirm if you want to continue with the process

Select Yes to continue. Another onscreen message will confirm if the process was successful.

The print screens inserted in the articles might vary slightly from the system you are currenlty using. Sage 200c VIP, Sage Classic, Sage Premier and Sage Business Cloud Payroll Professional have many product similarities. If necessary product specific print screens will be used, alternatively, any system's print screens will be used where the product feature is the same for all products.
Steps to duplicate
Related Solutions